Everyone’s Doing the Zombie Shuffle

Before and After

It’s officially two weeks until the Baltimore Running Festival and the last big push day. I think if someone took an aerial shot of the Baltimore waterfront today all they would have seen was runners. Everyone was out. EVERYONE.

I haven’t been making my numbers so today really had to count for me. I should have been at 10 miles by today and I haven’t gotten past 8 so I was a bit worried. But I did it. And not only did I do the 10, it actually turned out to be 10.5 miles since I added a stint through the park around the boat pond. I’m both proud and in a tremendous amount of pain right now. The general rule is you’re not supposed to push more than 10-percent of your last run and I did 25-percent. Probably not the smartest move but I really had to see what I could accomplish before attempting the whole 13. I hope running with my friend Heather, the general excitement of the race and the jovial atmosphere will help me achieve it.

I wasn’t actually going to run as far as I did but once I hit the Inner Harbor I had energy and I decided to push it. Which was kind of a mistake but I couldn’t stop at that point. I knew I was running hard because I could actually feel my mid section both jiggle and tighten at the same time. It was an odd experience.

Matt kept telling me how proud he was of me and he pointed out that I didn’t complain once during the end stretch. What he failed to recognize was I was way too exhausted to talk. My pain and inability to breathe was in his favor there. I was so beat I couldn’t even follow a basic rule I have near the end of every run. On the last steep hill there is a church I pass with three giant brick crosses imbedded in the sidewalk; and I’m what you might call at best culturally Catholic as in I don’t go to church but I still follow certain doctrines and one of those is that I can’t step on crosses.  Makes sense right?  Well, it’s one of the reasons I hate this last leg of the run. The thing is I have to jump over them and do the sign of the cross every time because I’m a superstitious Mo. But when you’re near the end and just trying to finish, jumping sidewalk crosses isn’t the easiest thing in the world.  And it doesn’t help save energy I can tell you that much. But today, by that point I couldn’t even think about a jump so I ended up running around them otherwise I would have been done for. Well if you could call it running, it was a somewhere between a jog and a Zombie shuffle.

 

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Exercise, Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

