Five, Four, Three, Two, Ugh….

And so the countdown begins.  This is my last real day of freedom before race craziness (though in all honesty that started Monday with the Running Festival folks and my running team. Email much people, geez.) Tomorrow and Friday are the Running Expo which I’ll be working again and then of course Saturday is the big day.

It’s amazing how different my attitude is this year than it was last. I really haven’t seem to grasp the weight of having to run 13.1 miles in a few days, it’s like Saturday is any other day. I’m not sure if that is a good or bad thing. I should be excited and it’s not so much that I’m not excited, I’m just pretty Meh about the whole thing. I’m hoping the energy of the expo (plus maybe a few free Larabars) and race day itself changes that (it should). I don’t want to exert myself for two-plus hours on Meh.

Maybe it’s the fact that I undertrained and over tapered. Though getting a nasty stomach bug last week wasn’t my obvious choice of tapering (poor Matt got it this week). Maybe it’s the fact that I don’t have the anxiety or pressure of it being my first time and not knowing what I can accomplish. This year the race is whatever it’ll be. I just need to cross the finish line and not injure myself basically. I’m not looking to break last year’s PR.  I’m just here to support my friend Heather.

Howard Street Bridge.

I guess the only thing that has been good is that I have able to help a few newbies this year. I really can’t stress to people the amount of hills that are in this race, that the Howard Street Bridge is a doozey and the last two miles are a total optical illusion. Yes, you can see Camden Yards; no you are not that close to the end. Oh, and for the love of Pete’s sake have a plan with loved ones for after the race because you need to remember that not only are 25,000-30,000 people running in the damn thing they all have loved ones watching too. Unless you enjoy mazes and aimless wandering, find a place to meet.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Exercise, Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five, Four, Three, Two, Ugh….

  1. Stefanie P says:

    Good Luck, JM! I wish I could be there; maybe next year. And I like your words of wisdom.

Leave a Reply

