The Half Marathon: Part II, the Negative

All in all I try to not harp on negative things. I’m not above them; I just try to not harp on them. And while I think the Corrigan Sports people put on a fine race and are consummate pros, there were some things that, as my mother would say, really buttered my biscuit this year.  Not all of them Corrigan’s fault but some were.

First, let’s start with Bag Check. Last year, Matthew and I just walked up to the tent, handed our stuff to someone and walked to the start line. This year, there was a line but not just any line, a line so damn long that Heather and I would have never made the start. I even planned the morning with an extra half an hour of time for incidentals. Thankfully her husband offered to take our bags and stand in line for us.

The next thing I didn’t really like was the pen I was in. Next year, I’m totally lying about my time to move up to the first or second pen.  It’s where I was last year and seemed to have no problems. There was also the fact that we couldn’t hear anything where we were, not the National Anthem, not any instructions, not music, nothing. When we did start moving, we still had to walk 5-10 minutes to the finish line because no one was running. Which brings me to the next complaint: there were a lot of walkers and inexperienced runners this year.

It flat out says in the runner’s packet that walkers aren’t supposed to be more than two by two but of course in our group everyone was three, maybe four people a breast. It made getting around them difficult. Then I saw more people stop short at the water stations than last year, which I attribute to inexperience or refusal to use common sense. At the second water station a woman in front of me stopped short so quickly I crashed into her and almost fell. I actually yelled at her because she could have injured both of us.

The final complaint I have is someone messed up big time with the end of the race. Once you crossed the finish line there was a huge backup. No one could move and we were all penned in a corral waiting to get into the Runner’s Village. They were handing out space blankets first, then the medals than Gatorade and no one could figure out why the line wasn’t moving (though I think I read they are capping the number of runners next year, maybe too many people). Last year, I just zipped through.  A girl in front of me suddenly passed out falling backwards onto the ground. Everyone just stared at her leaving Heather and I to yell for a Medic. Someone came over and pointed to where the Medical Tent was of which we yelled pointed out that it was impossible to get her there. To top it all off, some asshat of man tried to step over her to get past us. Yeah, I yelled at him too.

Later that day I ran into my friend Trish who also ran the half marathon and she agreed that people lacked couth this year. We couldn’t figure out what went wrong because it’s been a positive experience. But she had the great idea that maybe Corrigan send out an email race week with a list of top 10 things to know about race etiquette. After Saturday, I’m sure I can write that list with my eyes closed.

 

 

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Exercise, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

