My Husband, My Fitness Friend

Yesterday, in abs class one of our boot camp buddies saw Matt and I next to each other and smiling said, “There they are, there’s the team!” A personal trainer himself, he’s lamented in the past that he wished he could work out with his wife like we do. In fact, in our gym, we’re one of the few married couples who do the same things together. If I’m in spin, Matt’s in spin, if I’m in Body Pump, Matt’s in Body Pump and if we’re not it becomes highly questioned as if something is wrong.

I guess I just take it for granted that we genuinely like each other and like doing things together especially working out. I would think that’d be the case with most couples but based on reactions we get from people I guess it’s not. If you think about it though, doesn’t it make sense to be on the same page when it comes to fitness? Especially when you are married? When I’m tired, most likely Matt’s tired too; when I’m hungry after a run, so is he. Plus, through our 16 years together as a couple our fitness life has just grown. When we met I was a swimmer, he was a runner and cyclist but now we do it all together just by coaxing the other one to try something new. He has gotten me into spin and running, I’ve gotten him into Body Pump and yoga. AND! In addition to trying new workouts, we always have something to talk about (fight about as well).

Sure, he’s my husband, but he’s also my friend, my running coach, and my fitness back up. I really can’t see doing it any other way.

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Baltimore Running Festival, Exercise, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Gyms, Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Husband, My Fitness Friend

  1. Sarah C says:

    That’s awesome! I hope someday to have what you have – it’s truly a special thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

