Staying Strong Over the Winter Months

The seasons aren’t just changing, the seasons are getting angry; at least here on the Eastern Seaboard. We had hurricane Sandy last week and had a Nor’easter this week. The forecasts for winter seem grim as well. So what does that all mean? Unless you are a hard core runner and the outdoorsy type (which I am not) or live in a temperate climate (which I do not) it’s time to change up the routine.

Sure, it’s supposed to be 60 degrees this weekend so I can take advantage of the warm weather if I like, but to keep from getting too doughy I’ll need to bring things indoors. We all know it’s more difficult to lose weight in the winter so when it gets cold and nasty outside getting to the gym can seem impossible but I’m determined to not get lazy. One can only hide so much fat under a bulky reindeer sweater.

I have options; I mean we all have options. If I want to run when it’s above 50 I could go buy some sweet cold weather gear but that can get pricey (looking at you Under Armour).  But the best, easiest and cheapest option is to create a new routine indoors. I just got an email today from Active Insider about three treadmill routines that look good. I’m not a huge fan of the treadmill but it might give it another try. The classes at my gym are becoming few and far between but they exist.  I could also try a free trial at another gym or seek out affordable deals via Groupon. That’s how I got into Bikram Yoga.

In the end though, it all comes down to mental strength more than physical. If I can keep myself mentally in the game I’ll stay on target. Sure, we have Thanksgiving and Christmas and Hanukkah and Kwanza and, say, Tuesday as excuses to indulge over the next month or so but that doesn’t mean we have to let it get in the way. Neither Old Man Winter nor turkey legs nor wine (lots and lots of wine) can or should get in our way.

On a side note: If you get a second hop on over the Mobbies web site and Vote for me in the Best Personal Blog and Best Lifestyle Blog categories.

http://data.baltimoresun.com/mobbies/2012/voting/?vote_for=606#606

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Exercise, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Gyms, Holiday Weight Gain, Running, Weight Gain, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Staying Strong Over the Winter Months

  1. Andrea says:

    I used to watch that old man run every night while I was ski race training! He would run right past the ski hill in Edmonton every day without fail. It would be -30 Celsius and he’d still be out there. Sad that he passed away last year – what a motivator he was!

Leave a Reply

