Hazy Lazy Holidays

I’ve obviously been silent the past couple of weeks. I started a post on food that I shelved and then the tragedy at Sandy Hook happened and in all honesty, I just couldn’t bring myself to write one of my usual pithy posts in the aftermath. It didn’t seem fair. I also didn’t think I should write about the tragedy either when I have friends and family in that region and know people connected to it.

lazy-cat5It’s been a full week since then and this past week I haven’t much felt like working out or doing anything. I’ve been both physically tired and mentally void. Yesterday, I took to the couch and watched cheesy holiday movies on the Hallmark Channel until it was time to make dinner (ie until Matt came home from work). But I haven’t stopped indulging in any holiday festivities either (ie food and booze) and it’s totally starting to show up on my face. I know if I’m going to be this bad I should be working out but you know what, I just haven’t been feeling it.

To make matters worse I woke up this morning with a cough and next week is Christmas, Matt has off until New Years and I probably won’t get to the gym anytime soon. But this is where I’m laying on the fence at this point. Yes, I am being bad; very, very bad. Yes, I am gaining holiday weight. Trust me I feel it in my clothes. And yes, I should know better and get my ass in the gym. But I kind of feel like my body is telling me to forget it and rest. Plus, I have three races lined up for next year, two in the spring and possibly my first triathlon, so this might be my last time to get fat and rest for a while. Why not just give into it? Sure, there won’t be any photos of me posted anywhere from New Years Eve but I’m getting a little too old for that anyway.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Exercise, Fitness, Gyms, Holiday Weight Gain, Weight Gain and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

