Forget an Apple a Day, sometimes you need a doctor

female-doctorFirst let me go on record and say I’m a bit of a hypochondriac. I generally believe I’m dying at least once a year and Matt has banned me from looking at Web MD.

As you saw from my last post I had a small cough which since turned into a big cough which turned into bronchitis. Between the holidays, being out of town, and a really bad flu season here in the good ole Eastern seaboard it took me a long time to get the doctors. Being that mine was out of town I had to see someone I’m not used to. The exam itself was pretty quick, almost too quick. Matt had called in days earlier to make an appointment but when he couldn’t a nurse kindly asked what my symptoms were and put it in my file and told him to call back every morning until he could get an appointment. I assume the info went in to my file because the doctor showed up with an already printed prescription for me. He checked my breathing looked in my throat and handed it to. All in all he was pretty damn curt.

The next morning I woke up and read the instructions for the medicine. I think I’ve had Amoxicillin before and nothing said “Take with food”. So I sipped my coffee and took a pill with water. About an hour later I was shaky and I first thought I made the coffee too strong. But the shakes turned to shivers and my heart started pounding really bad. I then started to get nauseous so I thought I should eat something to calm this down. I got about two sips into my soup when things just got worse. Freaking out (as I tend to do) I called Matt hoping to calm me down. Half way into the phone call I had to hang up on him and throw up. And not just a little throw up. Demons are in my soul vomit. At this point the shivers got worse and I started to debate calling 911. As usual I was pretty sure I was going to die so I called Matt back and told him he had to come home. I know it was early in his workday but I needed someone to be with me. In between waiting for him I threw up again and just when he walked in the door I threw up a third time. Thankfully, he brought me a can of Coke and a bunch of Gatorade. I ate half of a roll and the symptoms slowly began to subside.

I don’t know what just happened but I can tell you I have never, ever, ever in my life felt anything like that and I hope to never feel it again. After an hour and nothing happening I called the doctor’s office to tell them my story. An hour later a nurse calls, asks me a bunch of questions and suggests I eat something, take another pill and call them back. Fine, maybe I needed to eat something beforehand (I’ll give them that) but my answer was a definitive, “Hell No!”. She told me she would talk to the doctor and call me back. The night came and went and nothing, which in all honesty pissed me off. Now I’m without antibiotics and I’ve gotten brushed off by this guy.

Which brings me to my point. Yesterday, I get a frantic call from my doctor, Dr. Ana Maldonado: the doctor that I have been with for 10 years, the woman who was instrumental in getting Matt speedy care when we weren’t sure he had cancer, the woman who called me from her private number saying she saw I came into the office, had an episode and it looked like no one called me back. She wanted to know if I was ok and did I need anything. I was beyond touched and more than comforted to know she had my back.

It is important to have a regular doctor (dentist too by the way). I know so many healthy active people who just use Patient First or any old walk in clinic and call it a day. But you aren’t going to get this kind of personal service from those kind of places. We should all have a person who knows everything about us so when the shit hits the fan (because it will) they know how to act swiftly. Plus, the personal relationship means they will care for you; not just walk in, hand you a piece of paper and slam the door on your way out (so to speak). If you don’t have a regular doctor, I suggest you go out and find yourself one now. I don’t care how you do just do it. Get a recommendation; come up with a system that is comfortable for you. For me, the person’s last name has to end in a vowel and generally be female. I don’t know why but I seem to have had the best of luck with that system and I stick by it. For you, it could be their name sounds like cheese. It doesn’t matter. Just do it. It’s the most crucial relationship with a person you can have.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Forget an Apple a Day, sometimes you need a doctor

  1. Hi there mates, nice article and fastidious
    arguments commented here, I am actually enjoying by these.

Leave a Reply

