Winter Ennui

JanThe month of January hasn’t gone the way I hoped at all. Not in the least. In fact, it’s been the exact opposite. I spent exactly one week counting calories using Daily Plate and then just stopped. I have been at the gym at best three days a week and because the Ravens are in the Super Bowl the drinking has been, how shall we put it, been like a frat party. And trust me; I’m too old for this shit. But of course we need the lucky Budweiser and vodka shots and the hamburgers because we’ve been doing that every Sunday and the Ravens just keep winning. This town is awash in purple and everyone is on cloud nine, but I’m actually looking for football season to be over. My health depends on it.

I not only need to get back to eating healthy and working out, I need to start writing again. I’ve been a lump this month. And I’m starting to feel guilty about neglecting my readers. Blame it on being Italian Catholic maybe. The guilt runs strong in this one. I started a post on wanting to count calories, but truthfully it was kind of boring and I just haven’t had anything in me all month. Matt calls it “The Winter Wall”. I’m sure most of us hit it. I know I have.

To top it all off, my bad habits are putting me in a fog. Plus, I’m breaking out like an awkward teenager. I sometimes leave the house forgetting to brush my teeth (thankfully I carry a toothbrush and paste with me). This morning I got out of the shower and realized I had forgotten to rinse out the conditioner. I don’t even have an excuse like young children. I’m just been puttering about like a hobo this month. I actually just started to laugh.

I’m hoping February brings a little pep to my step and anyone else suffering from the same thing.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Exercise, Fitness, Holiday Weight Gain, Running, Weight Gain and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

