They Like Me, They Really, Really Like Me

HOUSSE_DE_RACKET_Oh YeahNow that Ravens Nation is over for the season, hangovers are finally subsiding and Lent is around the corner (I’m Culturally Catholic not real Catholic), it’s time to stop being a schlub and get back in gear. I have had three great workouts the past three days and my face is brightening up and thinning out. I’m starting to feel stronger and healthier and I think I have a good game plan for the next phase in my life.

Matt and I never go to the gym on Saturdays but we’ve decided to forgo Friday night happy hour, have only a bottle of wine with dinner and wake up and go (after some coffee of course). We did 45 minutes on the treadmill with a 5 minute cool down and then headed to the aerobic studio for about 20 minutes of a mini-bootcamp (burpees, inch worms, etc.), ab work and stretching. It’s been a long, long time since I’ve felt this good. Even with the run I could have gone longer and Matt convinced me to do the Random feature on the treadmill which I surprisingly liked better than I thought I would. It also helped that the “40 Year Old Virgin” was on the TV, but not that much.

Later in the locker room I ran into a young woman who was also in the aerobic studio at the same time as Matt and I. She struck up a conversation with me saying she was new and looking to tone up so I suggested she should try one of the Body Pump classes but she mentioned that she has weird hours at work and can’t make any classes. So she says, “Maybe you can spare some time and show me things?” A little startled, I had to point out to her that I’m not an instructor or anything and she said, “Really? You should be. I think you’d be good at it and you look like you know stuff.” Well Aw shucks’, twenty minutes of watching me and she thinks I know things, but I’m still not an instructor and politely thanked her hoping she’d drop it. But she asked again if I can still show her some stuff. At this point I wasn’t sure what to do but she seemed keen on this idea of learning things from me. A little side note for those of you who don’t know me I’m not the Yoda of exercise (like I ever thought I was). In fact, Matt has nicknamed me “Skip” for all the times I skip reps in Body Pump. I do it a lot and he has a certain face he gives me in the mirror when I half-ass things. But I didn’t want to be mean to this girl so I suggested if she sees us next Saturday she can join in with us, which made her very pleased.

I will say this though, it is beyond flattering to think someone believes I am stronger and better than I am, because I can tell you right now, I don’t think so. Though today I’m feeling pretty good.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Exercise, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Gyms, Holiday Weight Gain, Running, Weight Gain and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to They Like Me, They Really, Really Like Me

  1. Netta says:

    Jeanne-Michele, you should do the instructor thing!! I got certified through AFAA two years ago, as well as Spinning, and love it. I’m working part-time at the YMCA, teaching 4 times a week. I teach water aerobics (I love my old ladies) and indoor cycling. I was totally the same way. I thought I couldn’t get through a whole class in front of people. I was afraid I would be breathing heavy into the mic and all. But, hey, if we could get through a critique in front of the ENV crew, and anyone at MICA, then teaching in front of a class at a gym is nothing. ; ) Good luck with everything. Sending positive vibes your way!
    Netta

  2. Elizabeth Nance says:

    Just strut your stuff!   

Leave a Reply

