Epic Run and Not in the Healthy Way

mail.google.comI recently returned from a St. Patty’s Day weekend in New Orleans and boy howdy was it fun. We met our friends Heather and her husband Matt (yes another Matt, aka one half of “The Matts” or “Matti”) to all run the Shamrockin’ Run 8k. It was a beautiful course through the Garden District past old Southern mansions ending up under the Oak trees in Audubon Park. The all you can drink, totally free, pour your own Guinness didn’t hurt. Normally, I would use my two drink tickets and high tail it out of the post-race party, but after this race we ended up not just closing it out but dancing and laughing our asses off until it was time to take the Shuttle bus home.  When you’ve got Big Sam’s Funky Nation bringing it down you stick around.

Truth be told, after already spending two nights in New Orleans I am flat out surprised the four of us woke up and made it to the race in the first place. The day before we drank our weight in Abita Ambers, a couple of  Sazeracs, the world’s most disgusting Jello shot, a frozen Hurricane oh, and more beer. Did I mention the Makers Mark at some point?  We were like teenagers who broke into someone’s parent’s basement bar. And what is even funnier is Heather’s Matt didn’t train or have any sort of workout gear on. He literally threw on a pair of Cargo shorts, belted them, ten year old sneakers of some kind, and was only finished 6 minutes behind me.  And I did probably my best time ever and beat out my Matt. (side note from Matt: apparently he was not running with full effort.) What we pulled out of our asses that morning was epic.

I will say this though; the race was oddly too flat for me. I was looking forward to it thinking it’d be easier but I really could have used a hill, an incline, something. My ankles and knee were actually hurting by the end even though it was a short race. I think the evenness of the road was too just even for me. I need more variety. But the 610 Stompers cheering us at the finish line perked me right back up. Did I mention the beer? It all more than made up for bad ankles and knees.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Fitness, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

