Time to Get my Head Back in the Game

I have had a blank Word document open on my computer for days now; it’s little blue and white logo sitting at the bottom of my screen mocking me. I’ve wanted to write something for a couple of weeks now, but truthfully I haven’t really known what. I haven’t been doing much and oddly doing too much at the same time over the past month.  It’s all been a weird fog.

I think it goes back to the New Orleans trip which started said brain fog that perpetuated and got worse with each new event up until this past weekend. I had a “guest” in town, a trip to the Eastern Shore followed by a direct turn around to Jersey City for a funeral to coming back to Baltimore to more guests in town. In there somewhere was my birthday (food), Easter (more food aka Italian meatfest), Orioles Opening Day (hot dogs), and Matt’s birthday (a whole hell’a lot of Korean BBQ). Through it all, I’ve been going to the gym sporadically and not paying a lick of attention to what I’ve been eating (or drinking) because, well, I actually just haven’t stopped and thought about it.

No doubt lately my pants don’t fit so well, comfy pants on a regular basis seem like a better choice and I just don’t seem to have the stamina I did a month again when I do in fact make it the gym.

I missed Body Pump Monday (just drained from everything), so I decided to hit the ground running Tuesday. I pushed it hard in Spin class, went the extra mile during the Ab workout and followed it all with three very hard (yet measly) sets of laps in the pool. Each with a break between sets because it was so difficult to actually do it, oh yeah and breathe. Yesterday morning, I woke up with my quads tingling, a pain under my ribs when I sneezed, and sore ankles. Yet I forged forward and attempted to run outside. Alas, I didn’t even make it past three miles. It was like I was running in quicksand my legs were so stiff. It didn’t even feel like I was actually picking up my legs. Heck, it didn’t feel like my legs.

Today…Today, I did 45 minutes of Spin, which was difficult in and of itself, the 30 minutes of CXWorks, and I got my ass back in the pool and did the 30 laps with only one stop. Plus, and this is a big plus, I found out the instructor thought I was in my late 20s and was shocked to hear I am in fact 41. She asked me what my secret was (good genes because I know it’s not my frequent trips to happy hour).  Now if that doesn’t put a pep in one’s step I don’t what will.

It’s amazing though how fast the time flew and I didn’t realize I was getting weaker and fatter. Not that I can’t correct it, but we all know the older you get the longer time it takes to fix the issue. I’m no spring chicken and I may (or may not) have races coming up that I’m not prepared for. And, let’s not forget I have a whole spring/summer wardrobe that I need to fit my ass back into. I can only wear what I’ve been getting away with the past few weeks for so long.

I often get asked in the gym (especially by new people) how much weight did I lose. But it’s never really ever been an issue of losing weight for me. I mean, yes, there are times, like now where I realize I have gained weight and have to lose it, but I’ve been active my whole life, and I will have to be active my whole life. I will gain weight and lose weight many times over. This has not been the first, nor will it be the last time I face this dilemma. This is simply life.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Exercise, Fitness, Gyms, Weight Gain and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

