Sidelined by Mother Nature and Work

you-have-been-disconnected-gt7095Spring was truly a problem for me this year. Between allergies and a new job my workout routine had been completely toppled.  I should have trained for at least one race by now, the Baltimore 10-miler has come and gone (it was depressing to see the finishers in their bibs as I was heading up to work) plus, I missed what seemed like a super fun Color Run. For about a month I hadn’t been able to breathe so I couldn’t be outside. Fresh cut grass made my nostrils burn. One day, I got off my bike in the middle of a spin class because I felt like I was being suffocated. I did go to the doctor, got me some Zyrtec and went from taking my inhaler twice a year (at best) to twice a day. Thankfully I haven’t used it for a while now and hope the worst of allergy season has died down. It is basically almost summer.

But even though I can breathe, the job has made it a bit difficult to fit in the gym and running. The job can be physically demanding at times (which I’m totally fine with) but I’m not used to these kinds of hours and running around. Plus, it’s food service so I get pretty dirty. I’m reaching a point where I’m desperate for a good clean sweat.  There just isn’t anything like it. Especially a good clean sweat, a long steam followed by a nice shower; I really need that.

Of course, we all know, change is good. Muscle confusion, yada, yada, yada.  If I can finally get back into a workout routine my body will react better for it. I just need to figure out when the hell I can do it. Example, I worked 9.5 hours yesterday and slept 11 hours last night. My legs basically buckled when I got out of bed this morning. Thus, making it to Body Pump today was out of the question. I’m filling in someone’s shift tomorrow so no afternoon spin for me. I miss working out so much I spent my day resting up, looking at workout class schedules.

But the real thing is, in addition to missing the workouts; I’m also missing my gym friends. I haven’t seen Elizabeth and the gang in who knows how long. I started a swimming challenge with my friend Aaron and haven’t even been able to swim since I brought it up.

I feel a little disconnected. A little like a different person, maybe someone in a different city, especially since I’m not at home as much anymore. It’s an odd feeling. I need to reconnect.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Exercise, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Gyms, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sidelined by Mother Nature and Work

  1. edevaughn says:

    We miss you too:-(

Leave a Reply

