Finally Finding Some Normalcy

DSCN2520I have notes all over the place, in a million different notebooks, in a bunch of half-started Word documents; on unintelligible notes on my phone. It’s been so long since I’ve written anything that I had to return to my last two posts to make sure I wasn’t going to repeat myself (which I’m sure I’ve done in the past anyway).

I always seem to have the best prose in my head but never when I’m sitting at the computer or near a pen and paper. And as mentioned above, I don’t have the thumbs of a teenager to properly type such a thing into my phone.

I have finally gotten myself down to a routine at the gym three days a week. It’s not great but I try to make the most of the time that I’m there so I kind of double up on things and extend the workouts themselves (interval training, the pool, classes, etc). My job can be pretty physical anyway (did I mention the dishwasher jokes about my muscles). Due to all of this, I really try to take advantage of days off. But those days off are flat out blob on the couch days. And not just blob on the couch days, I’m talking a blob that dreams of Italian Cold Cut subs while watching at least one movie that will make me cry days. I feel bad for not doing something like sitting outside and reading a book but meh.

It’s funny though that I physically feel like I’m in training for something (right down to the crankies) yet there is nothing I am training for (sniff). We’ve even decided against the Baltimore Half Marathon this year though we are looking at other options.  But I am finally getting used to my new routine as is Matt. Once a weekend (if lucky) I can get cut early from work so we’ll meet out and do something like a late dinner or drinks. It’s probably the closest thing we’ve had to date night in a long time and we both enjoy them.

And while I’m not at the gym as much as I used to be, the camaraderie is still there and for me that is more important than ever. I really do miss my Fitness Family and can’t let such an important part of my life go to the wayside for a job. In Body Pump these days, Matt has actually moved up the front of the room next to me which is good in that we get to actually spend some time together (he hid in the back and shrugged a lot when paid any attention to). The bad in that though is Antonio is on the other side of me so the two kind of them like to riff off of one another and razz me for the hour. Heck they razz me always but even though I act like I’m annoyed I actually enjoy it. In fact, I have gone up in weights because of the two of them so keep it up boys (to an extent, I am getting stronger and am still Italian…)

But as mentioned, there are still kinks to be worked out; things to consider and figure on. Eating is still a bit of tackle, and the fact that I have to work weekends when everyone else I know is 9-5 can cause problems. But it’s only been three months and each day brings a bit more normalcy. If I can maintain the things that make me whole while going to work, it’ll all be fine.

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Baltimore Half-Marathon, Exercise, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Gyms, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally Finding Some Normalcy

  1. Stefanie P says:

    I’ve missed you blogging/writing! 🙂 Glad to hear things are going well. I am planning on doing my first half marathon next year at St. Michael’s. Oh, and I am finally writing my EES thesis–due September 23rd!!! Lord, have mercy!

  2. Thanks for the compliment. I’m glad I’m not boring people. I did miss writing and posting. I need to force myself to find the time and get back to a once a week schedule. Matt and I are thinking of doing the Seaside 10-miler in OC October 26th. I haven’t trained for a long run in a while so this will be interesting. At least that is something to blog about. We’re not doing the Baltimore Half this year though since it’s not enough time to train. One of these days we should attempt the same race.
    As for EES, Woo Hoo!!! Let me know if for some reason you need any help. You know since I’ve been there done that….

Leave a Reply

