Remember to Take Care of Yourself

I’ve been pushing myself hard lately. This week in particular I have been both tired and achy, but I just assumed it was the physicality of my job (Or maybe even a hangover after Labor Day festivities).  But at 3 am this morning I realized that I’m not just tired and pushing myself too hard but in fact, I more likely have a cold. I was forced awake by a horrible dry cough that I cth2ouldn’t stop. Nothing worked right away, not my inhaler, not a cough drop. Just the constant feeling of things moving around in my chest.

If I could call in to work I would, but mine is not the kind of job that allows that. I have to personally find someone to fill in and 1) we’re short a host who is on the West Coast right now, and 2) basically anyone I could ask works the same night’s as me anyway. I just have to hope that rest, spicy soups and OTC medicine will get me through until Monday when I can call my doctor (If I need her by then).

But what I think is important lesson here is that we sometimes forget we are human and need to slow down. I’m too busy trying to do it all that I didn’t even realize I was sick. Where I was originally bummed I couldn’t go to the gym next week, here I am glad they are closed and will try to take the time to rest and get better.

Not only do I have two particularly busy and long weekends ahead of me, we’re hitting our busy season and I can’t be sick. I need to remember to take care of myself, eat better, drink less, sleep more. I won’t survive if I don’t.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Exercise, Gyms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

