Mentally Ready to Get Back at it (No, for real this time)

personal-power-2First let me say Happy New Year to you and yours! I surprisingly had a good one, lacking in stress and full of enjoyment. Being  from a large New Jersey Italian family that’s saying something. I got to go home to and see lots of friends and family (unfortunately missed some, sorry Greg and Shari). I got to spend time with my nephew and had a great early New Year’s Eve with Matt. But it’s time to get back to our regularly scheduled program and I’m ready for it.

After spending the later part of the last year doing nothing but telling myself I was going to do everything I’ve decide that pattern needs to stop. Especially, after seeing Matt take a scary, nasty spill on the ice this last Saturday.  He ended up breaking a bone in his foot and has to wear a cast. He’s absolutely miserable. As a person so used to physical activity, it has been but five days and he is about to break; and my heart breaks for him. But it made me realize that it could have been me, and an unshaped me with a broken bone would turn into a blob of an unshaped me. I don’t want that to happen.

The next big question though was how do I approach it? And then it hit me, the issue isn’t physical. I know what I am capable of, and my not working out the way I can is not a physical issue. It’s mental. All 100% mental, and the trick is putting myself back in that mental state that won’t allow me to make excuses.

This morning I saw a friend’s post that said she would not make resolutions, she would make goals. I found that apt and poignant. I’m not trying to resolve anything why make resolutions. It’s about setting goals that I can start with, stick with, and expand as I get better and stronger. And I think I am finally there. Not like I’ve said in the past, but literally mentally there.

I’ve already in the past week made health choices where I’m feeling the difference. I went the gym New Year’s Eve and the first Friday of the New Year and if it weren’t for the Polar Vortex, yesterday would not have been my first day back since. I don’t feel like I have to convince myself of anything anymore, I want to do it. That’s the big difference I was ignoring.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Exercise, Fitness, Gyms, Holiday Weight Gain, Weight Gain and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

