Vortex Shmortex: I’m Done

1012853_10153749628690078_625052145_n

Courtesy of cartoonist The Oatmeal.
http://theoatmeal.com/

I know it’s January and I know it’s winter, and I know the Mid-West is getting it worse than Maryland, but I’m ready and done with it already. This Polar Vortex shit plus snow and ice has officially drained me. I haven’t been to the gym at all this week (I think only once last) and yet I’m sore in places I haven’t felt since I trained for my first Half-marathon.

My runner’s knee is acting up something fierce, my ankles hurt, my arms are sore, my shoulders are constantly locked and need a massage and my gluts could use an Epsom salt bath. I know it’s all related to the weather. I don’t own a car so I have to walk around in this. My posture is probably so off kilter from staring at the ground looking for ice, arms perpetually in my pockets with hunched shoulders, walking on the ice causing issues with my legs. And I’m done (did I mention that I’m done?).

Not just done physically but it’s emotionally soul crushing too. All I want to do is sleep, eat the worst things possible and drink to ease the pain. I’m beyond bloated and would like to get to the gym but my body is screaming otherwise. And I guess I have to respect that, but I’m ready to get back on with my normal life.

I guess it doesn’t help that I’ve been taking on extra shifts at work causing more pressure on my extremities. But I’m stronger than this; at least I thought I was. I haven’t felt so broken down in a really long time. Today I slept until 11. I never sleep that late.

I know in due time this will all be over, I’ll be running outside in the great outdoors with the sunshine on my face, back in the gym laughing it up with my Fitness Family and feeling revived and refreshed. And maybe those are the thoughts I need to put in my head. But right now I seriously need a break from this. Anyone know a good masseuse in the Baltimore area?

 

 

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Exercise, Fitness, Gyms, Running, Weight Gain and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

