Life Gives you Lemons, yada, yada, yada….

84430aa31566aa6467126eab3d0fd026I know, I know, it has been a long time since I have posted anything. I won’t go into details or explanation or specifics because it doesn’t matter. Life happened. Life gets in the way. Life got in the way.

But you know what? The silver lining? The pot of gold at the end of the rainbow? The insert your “ra ra” cliche quote here? It doesn’t effin’ matter if life gets in the way. You always have today to start over. And start over you can. That’s always an option. Always.

Once I got over dealing with life, I had declared this summer, “My Summer of No Fear (ish).” I wasn’t jumping out of planes or hiking the Himalayas or putting pictures of clowns in my bedroom, but I was willing to tackle stuff I might have been embarrassed or lacked courage (or had misconceptions) to do in the past, even if they seemed small. And they all seemed small in all honesty.

IMG_20150904_103626149_HDR (2)First, I started really small and bought two pairs of colorful patterned workout capris. I simply never had confidence to wear anything other than black (or a daring grey) on my bottom half. Turns out, I like them, go figure. I also treated myself to new cross trainers and a snazzy pair of pink Brooks’ Ghost. Second, I moved onto things I wouldn’t dare try. Matthew and I began the summer with free yoga in the park. To most that sounds easy. It’s FREE! But to a very cynical and un-bendy me, my idea of an early morning hour with what I thought would be a bunch of nature-loving hippies wasn’t exactly my bag. In my bare feet no less. It also wasn’t remotely true. I ended up loving it and now that the summer is coming to a close I’m really going to miss my Saturday morning outdoor yoga.  Thankfully I can continue my practice thanks to the kind folks at Charm City Yoga and their affordable community classes.IMG_20150812_154849765 (2)

The third thing I did was buy a bike. My first bike since I was 13-years-old. (You do the math). Not one I’ve borrowed, or rented for a couple of hours at the beach, a real, honest-to-God bike that I have to ride inside the city limits; with cars and dogs and babies and everything. And I love it. (love-ish? Fit Matthew disclaimer here…)

11825893_1041653629179884_9096433233446029696_nAnother thing I tried this Summer was paddle board yoga with OC SUP & Fitness. I have never been on a paddle board before and I’m not exactly a world class yogi (or is it yogini) and I didn’t care. I nailed it and had a blast. Falling in the water wasn’t an issue at all. I love the water. The black stinky muck at the bottom of the bay, not so much.

And, finally this summer, I bit the bullet and signed up to become certified to teach Body Pump. Training is at the end of this month. I really couldn’t explain why I put it off for as long as I have but with some stars aligning and my new found zest for things (Remember Summer of No Fear!), I figured the time was now. Am I nervous? Of course, but that’s not the point. This is personal. This is my mountain.

I guess the only thing left is to figure out what my will be my Fall motto. “Autumn of…”?

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Bike, Biking, Body Pump, Exercise, Fitness, Group Fitness Classes, Les Mills, Paddle Board Yoga, Schwinn, Vinyassa, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

