Real Results, Real Slow

Well I did it. Finally. I participated in and passed the weekend-long Body Pump training. I am now allowed to move onto making my video and fingers crossed I will be a bona fide, certified Body Pump Instructor.

Q2012_BodyPump_A2 POSTER P1There are a million reasons why I waited so long and too many excuses to list here. Timing wasn’t right before. Timing was right now. But I will say this: as far as what I thought of my own capabilities, I really sold myself extra short and didn’t realize how much so until I got to spend a weekend with some really off-form, off-time people. At the same time, I also got the meet some amazing strong women who might have looked older but put most of the college kids in the room to shame. Seriously, there was a lady who had to be in her 70s and was using a pretty high amount of weight. Joan, wherever you are, keep eating those peanut butter sandwiches girl!

I guess I could also chalk things up to being an over-thinker and an over-preparer. It drives Matt crazy but while I took too long, it definitely worked in my favor here. The room was full of every spectrum of people from those who didn’t print out a single thing (kind of dumb actually) to those who had full color binders. There was the snacking on one bag of Stacey Chips gal to the woman with a full size cooler. I originally felt like a Sherpa with my two changes of clothes and enough food for a camp out, but in the end I fell somewhere in a very comfortable middle. Futhermore, I also lucked out in that while I was given two tracks to memorize, in the end I only had to perform one (triceps) and it was the one I knew better of the two. Lots of gratitude right there.

The weekend itself was obviously long and tiring.  But I’m not too sure how difficult it was though. Yes, you spend two, 10-hour days learning everything there is to be a Body Pump instructor, and yes, you are doing the whole BP release at least five times over the weekend. This, all on top of technique exercises (Clean and Press till they say stop), the Body Pump Challenge (say, four minutes of squats with 50% extra your normal weight) and the  practicing of your given track that you have to perform three times over. I’ll say this, the muscle in my left shoulder spasmed for two days straight afterward. But, I have been taking Body Pump classes for years and in all honesty: Pump is my bitch. I should know what I’m doing. I might not be used to performing in front of people but the rest of it was second nature. There were people in there who clearly had never even taken a single class before. If nothing else, I should have never denied myself that fact.

Brick Bodies Downtown Crew

Brick Bodies Downtown Crew

And as an added bonus, like I needed one, it made me respect my gym and my gym family all that much more. We are definitely a group of bad asses and I guess I got really skewed by just how badass we are. (Shout out to my prison gang!)

So here I am, ready to move onto the next phase. Video. AFAA certification and I guess the future.

About charmcityrants

Charm City Rants is written by Jeanne-Michele Vigna, a certified group fitness instructor, an avid traveler and seeker of knowledge, plus an expert of Eurovision and hot dogs. She lives in Baltimore with her husband and two cats. Plus, she obviously likes to complain.
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Body Pump, Body Pump Training, Exercise, Group Fitness Classes, Gyms, Les Mills, Les Mills Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

